

NZPsS Awards Recipients

Presidents Scholarship-Karahipi Tumuaki (offered annually) 2024 – Aryan McKay 2023 - Erani Motu 2022 - Cherry Reihana 2021 – Ririwai Fox 2020 - Alana Haenga O'Brien 2019 - Carrie Clifford & Logan Hamley (jointly awarded) 2018 – Karis Knight 2017- Miriama Ketu-Mckenzie 2016 – Jessica Gerbic 2015 - Stacey Mariu Ruru 2014 - Mihiroa Gillies 2013 – Tai Riki Kake 2012 – Tia Neha 2011 – Tess Chalmers 2010 - Matthew Shepherd 2009 – Melissa Stewart & Pikihuia Pomare (jointly awarded) 2008 – Bridgette Masters-Awatere 2007 – Mohi Rua 2006 – Julie Wharewera-Mika 2005 – Keri Thompson 2004 – Kararaaea Te Whaanga 2003 – Ani M. Ngawaka-Nathan 2002 – Kim Southey 2001 – Arthur Grooby 2000 – Carla Houkamau 1999 – Marewa Glover (established 1999)

Postgraduate Student Social Justice Research Scholarship (offered annually)

- 2024 Linda Fatialofa 2023 – Joanna Chan
- 2022 Sharn Manga
- 2021 Charlotte Bremer
- 2020 Olivia Yates
- 2019 Caitlin Helme

2018 – Tycho Vandenburg 2017 – Gloria Fraser & Rebekah Graham (jointly awarded) (established in 2017)

G.V. Goddard Award – became Goddard Early Career Award Achievement and Excellence in Research and Scholarship Award offered for first time in 2011 - (offered in alternate years with the Goddard Early Career, Applied Psychology Award) 2023 – Dr Kyle Tan 2021 – Roxanne Heffernan 2017 – Damian Scarf 2015 - Natasha Tassell-Matamua 2013 – Mary Breheny & Taciano Milfont (jointly awarded) 2011 – Dione Healey 2007 – not awarded 2005 – Nickolai Titov 2003 – Karren Towgood 2001 – Sally Willis 1999 – Jan Brassington/ Duncan Babbage 1993 – David N Harper 1989 – David Bilkey

(established in 1989)

Goddard Early Career Award -Achievement and Excellence in Applied Psychology offered for the first time in 2012 (offered in alternate years with the Goddard Research Award, starting from 2012) 2024 – not awarded 2022 - Agnes Sazbo 2020 – Tia Neha 2019 - Matthew Hammond 2018 – not awarded 2016 – Alice Theadom 2014 – Heather Heron-Spiers 2012 – Gwenda Willis

Hunter Award (offered every 2 years until 2008, now offered every 3 years)

- 2022 Neville Blampied
- 2019 Gwenda Willis
- 2016 Devon Polaschek
- 2013 not awarded
- 2010 John Reid
- 2008 Rob Hughes
- 2006 Michael Corballis
- 2004 Ian M. Evans
- 2002 Anthony J. Taylor
- 2000 Robert G. Knight
- 1998 Ming Singer
- 1996 not awarded
- 1994 Margaret-Ellen Pipe

- 1992 Gillian Rhodes 1990 – Garth Fletcher 1988 – Neil McNaughton 1986 – S.H. Ng & J.A. Ogden 1984 – Geoff White 1982 – Dianne C. McCarthy 1980 – Not awarded 1978 – Jane Ritchie & Michael Davidson 1976 – David Thomas 1974 – Not awarded 1972 – Murray White (established 1972)
- Dame Marie Clay Award (offered every 2 years) 2023 – Prof Suzanne Pitama 2021 – Sonja Macfarlane 2019 - Valerie Bridge 2017 – not awarded 2015 – Jan Johnson 2013 – Jean Annan 2011 – Ian M. Evans 2009 – Don Brown (established 2009)

Public Interest (offered every 2-3 years until 2009, now offered every 4 years) 2024 - Dr. Elizabeth du Preez 2020- Julia Ioane & Rebecca Sargisson 2016 - Russell Wills 2012 – Janet Peters 2009 – Sue Bradford & Philippa Howard-Chapman (jointly awarded) 2007 – Not awarded 2005 – Fred Seymour 2003 – Andrew Hornblow 2001 – Ian Lambie 1999 – Christina Rush 1997 – Freda Walker 1993 – Barry Parsonson 1991 – Gabrielle Maxwell & Barton MacArthur (jointly awarded) 1989 – Ethical Issues Committee 1987 – Not awarded

- 1985 Max Abbot & Jules Older
- (established 1985)

Ballin Award (offered every 4 years) 2023 – not awarded 2019 - Dr Waikaremoana Waitoki 2015 – Julia Rucklidge 2011 – Suzanne Blackwell 2008 – Ian Lambie (established 2008)

C.J. Adcock Award (offered every 2 years until 2008, now offered every 4 years)

2024 – not awarded 2020 – not awarded 2016 – not awarded 2012 – not awarded 2008 – Neville Blampied 2006 – Brian Haig 2004 – not awarded 2002 – K. Geoff White 2000 – Robert Hughes 1998 – John Irwin 1996 – not awarded 1994 – not awarded 1992 – not awarded 1990 – Diane Green (established 1988, first offered in 1990)

Jamieson Award (offered every 4 years)

2022 - Iain McCormick 2018 – not awarded 2014 – Michael O'Driscoll 2010 – Clare Bennett 2006 – Stuart Carr (established 2006)

Tony Taylor Award (offered every 2 years) 2024 - Dr. Iain McCormick and Stuart Forsyth (established in 2024)

Te Tihi o Manono Award (offered every 2 years) 2024 - Prof Angus Macfarlane (established in 2023)

Special Awards – given on merit as determined by the NZPsS Executive

2015 - Award for Services to International Psychology- Dr Barry Parsonson and Dr JaneMary Castelfranc-Allen 2012 – The Canterbury Charity Hospital for Exceptional Contribution to Psychological Wellbeing (following the Canterbury Earthquake February 2011)